fruit and vegetables

The Mediterranean Diet

June 30, 2022


It’s no surprise that at Gallio we share our love of Mediterranean freshness, flavours and colours throughout our menu. 

But what exactly does a Mediterranean diet consist of and what are its benefits, we hear you ask?

What is the Mediterranean diet?

Did you know that the Mediterranean consists of 22 countries? (brownie points if you can name them all!*) 

It is the traditional foods from each of these countries that constitute the world famous Mediterranean diet! These foods include whole grains, vegetables, fruits, fish, cheese, meat and poultry. 

Did you know that our signature pizza dough is made with a blend of three grains: emmer, spelt and einkorn? We wanted to stand out from the crowd so we drew inspiration from the Mediterranean! And as a bonus, our dough is high in protein and antioxidants.

This graphic gives a little guidance on how often to consume these foods:

If you were to follow a Med diet, your meals for the week would include: berries, olive oil, Greek yoghurt, quinoa, beans, chickpeas, zucchini, cod, potato, eggs and oats.

The benefits of the Mediterranean diet 

The Mediterranean diet is said to have numerous potential benefits including:

  • Promoting good heart health
  • Supporting healthy blood sugar levels
  • Keeping you agile
  • Reducing our risk of developing conditions like high blood pressure and high cholesterol
  • Helping with weight loss

At Gallio, we have spent many years fine tuning our menu to provide a diverse selection of fresh dishes from across the Med. Our wraps and salads are packed full of the freshest ingredients including tomatoes, cucumbers. pickled cabbage and our signature grain mix. And our pizza toppings will leave you daydreaming of your next holiday…So next time you’re in Canary Wharf for lunch or dinner, pop by and experience a taste of authentic Med dishes!

*The 22 Mediterranean countries are: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Slovenia, Spain, Syria, Tunisia, and Turkey